The Arc's Catalyst Awards will be given to individuals, businesses and organizations that are catalysts for achievement in the lives of people with I/DD. 

Nominations are due by August 7, 2015.

Winners will be notified on or before August 28, 2015

Nomination Process: The scope of the work being nominated can be at the local, regional, state, or national level because support of inclusion at any level can help manifest change nationally. The selection committee members will be using The Arc’s Strategic Framework for the Future of The Arc, 2010 – 2019 as a guide for selection of award winners. To be eligible, nominees must have advanced one or more of the goals and strategies in the Strategic Framework, including:

  • supporting the inclusion of people with I/DD in their communities,
  • working to assure the human rights of people with I/DD are attained, and
  • promote best practices in supports and services for people with I/DD

Awards will be presented at The Arc's 2015 Catalyst Awards Luncheon on Monday, October 5, 2015 at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown (in conjunction with The Arc's 2015 National Convention).

Nominations and self-nominations are invited in 5 award categories.  During this inaugural year of The Arc Catalyst Awards, we expect to award 5-7 awardees in select categories.

This year we are seeking nominations in the following categories:


  • Self-Advocate of the Year
  • Community Advocate of the Year 
  • Local Government Advocate of the Year 
  • State Government Advocate of the Year 
  • Federal Government Advocate of the Year
  • Public Policy Victory of the Year (State or National)


  • Educator of the Year


  • Small Business Employer of the Year
  • Regional Business Employer of the Year
  • National Employer of the Year


  • New Media Story of the Year (Social Media or Blog Post)
  • Traditional Media Story of the Year
  • Public Service Campaign of the Year
  • Reporter of the Year (Local, State, or National)
  • Television Show of the Year
  • Viral Video of the Year
  • Feature Film of the Year


  • Foundation Philanthropist of the Year
  • Corporate Philanthropist of the Year
  • Individual Philanthropist of the Year